Two Years Now

This is the two-year anniversary of my Mother’s death. Last year the anniversary was on a Sunday and we had our family Christmas celebration that day. Lots of family around with laughter and fun.

We planted a small tree in her memory and to celebrate her life. I wanted a tree that would stay small and that we could decorate with lights each Christmas. Walked out one day last Spring and found my granddaughter had decided that Momma tree looked lonely so she put an amaryllis 2,besides it and let it wear her umbrella. The little tree did look lovely and I am sure my Mother was smiling in heaven. Eight year old granddaughters are a gift.

DSC00539

This year we had our family Christmas celebration on Saturday. Beautiful weather (mid 70’s), food, presents and family – a great day. Didn’t even mention the best thing – we now have a grandson born on December 6th. A new little baby in the family, what a wonderful thing.

So today was a quiet day. The anniversary was a lot easier last year surrounded by family and activity, this year it is just depressing. The gloomy, rainy weather didn’t help things either. The passage of time does help but I still miss her.

About TheClothesAreInTheStove

I am a wife, mother, grandmother, and daughter. My husband has retired and I work part-time at an outside job and until 12/23/11 worked full-time as my Mother's caregiver. I started this blog as a way to cope with my Mother's illness, dementia and death. I have always had to urge to write down every significant event in my life. Over the years I have jotted down notes on calendars, in journals, on little sheets of paper and now this blog. I am so afraid that if I don't write it down I will forget and it will be lost forever. My Mother's decline is so important and so painful but it happened and it can't be forgotten. Hopefully it will help someone else deal a little bit better - it helps to know that what you are feeling is ok and that what you feel is not unique. Others have different experiences but this is my experience.
This entry was posted in anniversary of death, Dealing with death at Christmas, Death, Elder Care, Family, Grief, memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Years Now

  1. jenna says:

    I missed this post yesterday, Mom, even though I thought about you and Granny all day. I love you.

Leave a Reply

