Copper in the kitchen

Copper thieves don’t go and get all excited, the copper in her kitchen consist of my Mother’s collection of jelly molds. I have no idea why or when she started collecting the molds, they have been there for many a year. If she spotted a piece at any garage sale, she would think for about two seconds and buy the mold. Sometimes she would have to reorganize a bit but she always found a place for her new treasure.

Once a year, she took every one of those dratted copper molds down. She would then wash the kitchen walls and each copper mold. Every flat surface in the kitchen and the dining room table would be covered with her clean and shiny collection after she washed them. Then she would start the lengthy process of hanging them back onto the wall. For years, she would just handle this chore on her own by hauling in her ladder. She would then be up and down on the ladder until the job was done. She knew the exact spot for most of the molds but almost always at the end she would have one or two strays that didn’t have a nail. No problem, she would pull out her trusty hammer and she had the mold hanging. Combine a lady in her early 90’s with a ladder and you have the potential for all kinds of problems. She kept her guardian angel busy.

You don’t even want to know how much trouble my husband had painting that kitchen with all those nails sticking out.

Now the copper molds are my problem. They have no real value except sentimental. My sister had given her a set of the four seasons and she took them home. Hoping a few other family members will want a memento, there will be enough to go around. If not, the leftovers will leave the same way they arrived >>> yard sales..

About TheClothesAreInTheStove

I am a wife, mother, grandmother, and daughter. My husband has retired and I work part-time at an outside job and until 12/23/11 worked full-time as my Mother's caregiver. I started this blog as a way to cope with my Mother's illness, dementia and death. I have always had to urge to write down every significant event in my life. Over the years I have jotted down notes on calendars, in journals, on little sheets of paper and now this blog. I am so afraid that if I don't write it down I will forget and it will be lost forever. My Mother's decline is so important and so painful but it happened and it can't be forgotten. Hopefully it will help someone else deal a little bit better - it helps to know that what you are feeling is ok and that what you feel is not unique. Others have different experiences but this is my experience.
This entry was posted in caregiver, Elder Care, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Copper in the kitchen

  1. Jenna says:

    Love this, Mom! So glad you’re taking lots of pictures of the house. Enjoy your vacay!!

Leave a Reply

